movie review: Midnight Special (go see it!) [spoiler-free]

I don’t usually do this, but: go see Midnight Special! I went in not knowing what exactly to expect (although I had seen the trailer) other than it was a “hard sci-fi” movie. I’ve had bad experiences with these before (I really didn’t care for Under the Skin, although apparently everyone else loved it), but this is a great movie. It’s minimalistic but comprehensible, and fascinating to watch.

My favorite kind of sci-fi is built around an idea – what if the world is the way it is, except for X, where X=sentient robots! or X=jetpacks! You get one big idea and then tell me a story about how people would react and deal with it. The movie does this really well. It feels very real!

It does a great job of setting a mood, and the ending is satisfying without being too cryptic or too conclusive.

Anyway, I may have to go seek out more Jeff Nichols movies. But go see this one!

Leave a Reply

