Two personal disappointments for Windows Phone

1. A few months ago I nominated myself for a Microsoft MVP award for the stuff I’ve done for Windows Phone. Happily a lot of people I know have been tweeting that they just got their MVP award renewed; unhappily I haven’t heard anything, so I assume that it’s not in the cards for me. I’m disappointed about it, but oh well – not much I can do except try harder for next year.

2. Ever since FlightPredictor had to be taken down I’ve been working on a new flight-tracking app for Windows/Windows Phone – the ones that are available are decent, but I think there’s a lot of room for improvement. I haven’t had a ton of free time this year, but I’m making decent progress on it. And then a few days ago I read this article about FlightHero, and it clearly uses the same backend service that I’m using, and it looks freaking beautiful. (mine, ahem, does not)

So that got me down for a bit. But I actually downloaded and tried out the app, and while it is very attractive I still have some nice features that it doesn’t have, and I think I can provide a better UX since I’ve spent a lot of time working on flight tracking apps. So now I’m feeling more motivated and energized to make my app the best it can be!

(if you’re interested in trying a beta for Windows Phone, let me know! It will probably be a few months before it’s ready…)

Leave a Reply

