Windows Phone: a WrapPanel you can use in Universal apps

I was working on a Universal app the other day and was quite put out to discover that the WrapPanel isn’t supported in Universal apps. A WrapPanel is great for laying out things in a vertical or horizontal orientation until you reach the edge of the container and then moving on to the next column or row. Then I remembered I had written my own version for an earlier project – it’s not really that difficult, and it’s a neat learning experience, so I’d recommend giving it a shot!

But if you just want to use something, I just published my UniversalWrapPanel – here’s the GitHub page and it’s available on NuGet with ID “UniversalWrapPanel”. Pull requests encouraged!

See all my Windows Phone development posts. I also send out a monthly-or-so email with news for developers – check out the latest email and sign up here!

I’m planning on writing more posts about Windows Phone development – what would you like to hear about? Reply here, on twitter at @gregstoll, or by email at greg@gregstoll.com.

Leave a Reply

