link smattering

LabVIEW 2011 has released! You should totally go buy it or whatever. I made that unable to find the run-time engine dialog. Well, I added a sentence and some buttons. I’m sure this is as exciting for you as it is for me!

– Long read: retelling of the bin Laden raid with some new information.

Girls Go Geek…Again! – in 1987, 42% of the software developers in America were women. I had no idea!

If the world lived in a single city – mostly posting this for a good visualization of how sprawled Houston is. (very)

The Centrist Cop-Out – op-ed by Krugman about the debt ceiling brouhaha.

The Platinum Coin Option – thinking outside the box to avoid debt ceiling catastrophe.

What Happens if We Don’t Raise the Debt Ceiling? – short answer: things get crazy.

Hollywood is about to repeat the mistakes of the music industry – sigh! (thanks David!)

In Time trailer – sci-fi action thriller that looks pretty darn good.

– A cool use of high-frequency and low-frequency images to see if you’re nearsighted. (when I take off my glasses I see a giant blob 🙂 )

7 thoughts on “link smattering”

    1. Interesting article about OBL with a lot of details. It sounds like they’ve given up pretending that the objective was to capture him….

      Like

      1. Yeah…I mean, I do believe that if he had thrown up his hands and hit the floor they might not have shot. But it sounds very much like a military operation where they didn’t want to take any chances.

        Like

  1. I don’t understand the short-sighted one. Do they mean far-sighted (i.e. you need reading glasses)? Because I’ve got terribly nearsighted vision in my left eye, and I can see the screen just fine. It’s far-away things I cannot see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

