neat startups

I like tech startups – probably comes from reading Hacker News a lot. If I were in a different place in life I’d probably want to work for one (or found one!), but I’m pretty happy where I am now, so instead I shall live vicariously through others.

FlightCaster – predicts ahead of time whether flights will be delayed using machine learning and lots of data. I like this idea so much I wrote FlightPredictor (a WebOS client for Palm phones) that uses their data.

SproutRobot – tell it where you are, and it will tell you what to plant when, and even send you the proper seeds. Just looking at the website makes me a little happier.

Groupon – coupons with a twist. Each coupon is only offered for a day, and only if enough people buy it does the transaction take place (more about how it works). You can see the recent offers for Austin have included Precision Camera & Video, the Round Rock Express, Austin’s Park and Pizza. I just signed up today and am hoping for more cool stuff in the future!

4 thoughts on “neat startups”

      1. The idea is slow – one new deal per day. You can’t go and say “I want to look into housecleaning” and get a good deal on it. It supports impulse purchases. Just not my cup of tea 🙂

        Like

      2. Ah, yeah, I get what you’re saying. Especially since it doesn’t look like it’s even every single day (maybe not enough businesses in Austin are signed up yet?)

        Like

Leave a Reply

