Election Predictions!

Here are mine: feel free to post yours here!

– President: Obama wins Kerry states + IA NM CO VA NV OH for a total of 311-227 electoral votes. (here’s a decent calculator to play with) This is a somewhat conservative estimate and I hope he breaks 330 EVs or so so it’s not that close.
– Senate: Dems win new seats in VA NM CO AK NH OR NC for a total of 58. The GA race goes to a hotly-contested runoff.
– House: Um, I dunno, Dems gain 25 seats.
– California’s Prop 8 fails but it’s very very close.

Mostly just guessing on these with a slight pessimistic edge.

An interesting video about voting dirty tricks from the Obama campaign, although it’s weak on actual advice.

A reminder: exit polls will be leaked tomorrow during the day. They will be partial numbers and very unreliable (they showed Kerry winning in 2004). I don’t think I’m gonna be able to stop myself from looking at them (numbers!!) but they’re pretty meaningless.

5 thoughts on “Election Predictions!”

  1. Before I looked at your details on the presidential, I went and plugged in my own estimate. Turns out, our predictions are the exact same! Though I am with you in hoping it’s actually more in favor of Obama–particularly, a Florida flip to Obama, and slightly less exciting but still interesting, a North Carolina flip. I also think, hope, and pray Prop 8 will fail in CA, but I too believe it will be close.

    Like

      1. I’ve seen a fair bit of support from people and even though it doesn’t directly affect me personally, I’m really touched by it. P. Clinton came out against 8; the Daily Show did a very supportive segment on it, etc.

        Like

Leave a Reply

